Gehe zu 1 level 2 level 3 level 4 level Content Todays Events Next 3 Days This Week Next 2 Weeks This Month Next 2 Months
Images


74 (The Reconstitution of a Struggle)



23 Sep 2014
KEX Studio

Rania and Raed Rafei “74: The Reconstitution of a Struggle ” Photo by Rachel Tabet / Ourjouane Production

Film screening followed by a conversation between Raed Rafei and Fritz Ofner.

74 (The Reconstitution of a Struggle)
Lebanon 2012 | 95 min | OF mit engl. UT |
Rania Rafei, Raed Rafei
Trailer

Synopsis:

1974. Lebanon is at the brink of the civil war. Students of the American University of Beirut demonstrate against a tuition increase. For 37 days, they occupy university offices in a fight for social justice and against American imperialism. Through improvisations and reenactments, seven Lebanese activists revive the events and ideals of that seminal event.

Longer Description:

1974. Lebanon is in intellectual, cultural and political ferment. Between March and April, for 37 days, a few students from the American University of Beirut occupy the university's premises to protest against rising tuition fees. 2011: in the midst of the Arab Spring, Rania and Raed Rafei decide to step back and reconsider today's situation in the light of that period which was pregnant with hope, but also a prelude to civil war. Should they revive the past? Recall it? Reconstruct it? That's a crucial question. Here the method is decisive. First, make meticulous research. Then launch the experiment, as the film doesn't only reread past events, but also searches for their echo in today's time. Thus yesterday's protagonists are portrayed by their likely modern counterparts, political actors involved in present struggles. What is democracy today, and how can we fight? A few guidelines, a few emblematic accessories as so many signs (a picture of Che Guevara, a megaphone) and here they go, launching into an experiment based on improvisation, in which a form of theatricality accentuated by the enclosed setting interact with cinema. And in this dialectic of past and present, memories go around as freely as words in present time, just like in the interviews which punctuate the film - yesterday's and today's words getting inextricably mixed. - Written by Nicolas Feodoroff

Biographies:

Raed Rafei was born in 1977 in Tripoli, Lebanon. He is a filmmaker, writer and multimedia journalist. He is interested in reality, fiction and what lies in between. 74 (The Reconstitution of a Struggle), a feature film he co-wrote and co-directed with Rania Rafei in 2012, premiered at the FID Marseille International Documentary Film Festival where it received an award. The film received other prices in Morocco and Brazil and was screened at other international film festivals in countries like Canada, Portugal, South Korea and Germany. Raed Rafei is currently Artist in Residence at KEX Studio.

Fritz Ofner, Documentary Filmmaker, lives in Vienna.

Gehe zu Menü 1. Ebene Menü 2. Ebene Menü 3. Ebene Menü 4. Ebene Inhalt Heutige Termine Nächsten 3 Tage Diese Woche Nächsten 2 Wochen Dieses Monat Nächste 2 Monate
Bilder


74 (The Reconstitution of a Struggle / Die Neukonstituierung eines Kampfes)



23 Sep 2014
KEX Studio

Rania and Raed Rafei “74: The Reconstitution of a Struggle ” Foto: Rachel Tabet / Ourjouane Production

Filmscreening mit anschließendem Gespräch zwischen Raed Rafei und Fritz Ofner.

74 (The Reconstitution of a Struggle / Die Neukonstituierung eines Kampfes)
Libanon 2012 | 95 min | OF mit engl. UT |
Rania Rafei, Raed Rafei
Trailer

Synopsis:

1974. Der Libanon ist am Rande eines Bürgerkriegs. StudentInnen der American University of Beirut demonstrieren gegen die Erhöhung von Studiengebühren. In ihrem Kampf für soziale Gerechtigkeit und gegen den amerikanischen Imperialismus besetzen sie 37 Tage lang universitäre Einrichtungen. In Improvisationen und Reenactments lassen sieben libanesische AktivistInnen die Aktionen und Ideale im Kontext jenes denkwürdigen Ereignisses wieder aufleben.

Beschreibung:

1974. Der Libanon ist in intellektueller, kultureller und politischer Unruhe. Zwischen März und April besetzen einige StudentInnen der American University of Beirut 37 Tage lang das Universitätsgelände, um gegen steigende Studiengebühren zu protestieren. 2011: Mitten im Arabischen Frühling beschließen Rania und Raed Rafei, einen Schritt zurück zu tun und die heutige Situation im Licht jener Zeitspanne zu betrachten, die voller Hoffnung war und doch eine Vorstufe zum Bürgerkrieg markierte. Sollten sie die Vergangenheit wieder aufleben lassen? Sie zurückholen? Rekonstruieren? Eine essentielle Frage. Hier ist die Methode entscheidend. Mach’ zuerst eine akribische Recherche und starte dann das Experiment – denn der Film soll nicht nur vergangene Ereignisse nachzeichnen, sondern auch deren Echo in der heutigen Zeit aufspüren. So werden die ProtagonistInnen von gestern von deren wahrscheinlichen modernen Gegenstücken dargestellt – politische AkteurInnen in aktuellen Konflikten. Was bedeutet Demokratie heute, und wie kämpfen wir dafür? Ein paar Vorgaben, ein paar emblematische Requisiten und Symbole (ein Bild von Che Guevara, ein Megafon), und da sind sie schon beim Experimentieren: eine Improvisation, in der eine Form der Theatralik, noch akzentuiert durch das geschlossene Setting, mit dem Kinoformat interagiert. Und in dieser Dialektik der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart fluktuieren Erinnerungen so frei wie eben ausgesprochene Worte, so wie in den Interviews, die punktuell in den Film gesetzt sind – die Worte von gestern und heute vermengen sich zu einem untrennbaren Ganzen.
– Engl. Originaltext von Nicolas Feodoroff


Biografien:

Raed Rafei wurde 1977 in Tripolis geboren. Er ist Filmemacher, Autor und Multimedia-Journalist. Sein Interesse gilt realen und fiktiven Geschichten und allem, was dazwischen liegt. 74 (The Reconstitution of a Struggle), ein Spielfilm, der in Kooperation für Drehbuch und Regie mit Rania Rafei 2012 entstand, wurde beim FID Marseille International Documentary Film Festival erstmals aufgeführt und gewann dort einen Preis. Auch in Marokko und Brasilien wurde der Film ausgezeichnet und in Folge auch in Programmen von anderen internationalen Filmfestivals in Kanada, Portugal, Südkorea und Deutschland aufgenommen.
Raed Rafei ist derzeit Artist in Residency im KEX Studio. 

Fritz Ofner, Dokumentarfilmemacher, lebt in Wien.